top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe

Happy Thanksgiving!!

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!!


1 Chronicles 16:34

Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; for his steadfast love endures forever!


Psalm 107:8-9

Let them thank the Lord for his steadfast love, for his wondrous works to the children of man! For he satisfies the longing soul, and the hungry soul he fills with good things.


Psalm 100:4

Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name!


1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.


What does it mean to be thankful? Showing thankfulness means showing gratitude and appreciation. It's a shame that many people, myself included, are guilty of not expressing thankfulness as much as they should. Whenever Thanksgiving comes around, people are all about being thankful but the truth is that we should be thankful every day of the year.


Why should we be thankful?

-----Thankfulness show's the character of God. Thankfulness is mentioned in the Bible many times so it is a quality that is obviously important to God. When we show thankfulness to others, we become who we were meant to be. God created us to love one another. Showing thankfulness is one of many ways to show that love.

-----Thankfulness improves positivity. A lot of the time, there can be so many things going on in our daily lives that can easily bring us down. When we truly show thankfulness to others, it allows us to see the good in others and see the good things that we do have in our lives. For me, when I focus on God, the bad things seem smaller because I know in the end that I have so many more good things in life that I am extremely thankful for.

-----Thankfulness improves our relationships with other people. One common desire that everyone has is the need to feel appreciated. By showing thankfulness to others, we meet that need. By expressing thankfulness to others, that allows the relationships to grow.

-----Thankfulness creates humility. When we choose to express thankfulness for the big as well as small things in life, we show humility and gratitude.

-----Thankfulness increases your ability to be liked by others. Everyone has known someone in their life that has always acted very ungrateful for the things that they have. I admit that I used to be that person before I found God. But no one wants to be around someone like that. On the flip side of that, when someone shows thankfulness, they are seen in a positive way which leads to people wanting to be around that person.


I am most thankful for God. If he hadn't sent Jesus to die on the cross for us, we would never have had the opportunity to be loved by someone whose love is eternal.


I am thankful for my mom. She raised me and has always been there for me not just through childhood but also throughout my adult life. I am the man that I am today because of her.


I am thankful for my friends. Ya'll have always loved me for me even when I'm being difficult. Ya'll have given me so many good times and great laughs that I could never return the favor.


I challenge anyone who reads my blog to show thankfulness not just on Thanksgiving but everyday. God bless everyone!!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page